Domain Name Scam
Last week I learned about a new Internet scam. This one involves domain name registration. It all started when I received an email from an Asian domain name registration service. I’ve altered the domain name in question, but basically it went like this:
Dear CEO,
We are the department of Asian Domain registration service in China, have something need to confirm with you. we formally received an application on December 2, one company which called “Urbai Trading Co.,LTD.” are applying to register ” YourDomainNameHere” as brand name and following Domains:
YourDomainNameHere.cn
YourDomainNameHere.com.cn
YourDomainNameHere.net.cn
YourDomainNameHere.org.cn
YourDomainNameHere.tw
YourDomainNameHere.com.tw
YourDomainNameHere.hk
YourDomainNameHere.com.hk
YourDomainNameHere.asia
YourDomainNameHere.inAfter our initial examination, we found that the brand name applied for registration are as same as your company using name and brand. these days we are dealing with it, hope to get the affirmation from your company. if your company did not authorize the aforesaid company to register these, please contact us as soon as possible.
In addition, we hereby affirm that our time limit is 7workdays. if your company files no reply within the time limit, we will unconditionally approve the application submitted by ” Urbai Trading Co.,LTD.”.
Best Regards,
What’s their objective? They’re trying to make some money by registering domain names. It’s an international version of GoDaddy asking you if you’re sure that you don’t want to register the .org and .net versions of your domain name. However this is a scam because I’m sure no one else was trying to register any domain names like mine. How can I be so sure? There is no research like this done to register domain names. If a name is available, anyone can regester it.
I just deleted the email while I wondered about putting that “CEO” title on my business cards. Hmmm . . . .

December 15th, 2009 at 10:24 pm
Hi – so glad to find this post.
Am in Singapore and we received the exact same email saying Urbai Trading Company was after our domains.
Thanks a bunch for writing this entry!
Cheers.
December 19th, 2009 at 12:49 pm
Glad to help. I hadn’t heard of this particular scam before so it took me a some time to figure out what to do and what their angle was.
December 27th, 2009 at 9:08 pm
It doesn’t have to be a scam. There could be a subsidiary of this company that plays the role of Urbai Trading Co. They then research a .com domain and look up the other TLDs. So technically they did research the domains which makes the letter to you technically legit.
Yeah, I’m splitting hairs here. What can I say? It’s a slow Sunday night